Wanderer
Eifelsteig & Co.:
Hiking on the Wackerberg

 Popular German hiking region with five letters? Of course, the Eifel!

Since the Romans built a fortified road between their provincial capitals of Trier and Cologne 2,000 years ago (and a water pipe from Nettersheim to Cologne right next to it), the low mountain range has been regarded well developed in terms of transport.
Roman legionnaires, medieval knights or early modern merchants were hardly on the move for pleasure, and they probably didn't even know a Zen motto ("The Way is the Destination"). Good air, beautiful scenery and exercise therapy were given as an encore, they didn't even talk about it.
This should change only much later, but then thoroughly....

»The purpose of travelling is to get to a destination, the purpose of hiking is to be on the move.«

Theodor Heuss

Theodor Heuss, first German Federal President, 1884 - 1963


Top hiking trails

Eifelsteig More Eifel is not possible: Premium hiking trail, Top Trail of Germany - the Eifelsteig, the 313 km long long-distance hiking trail between Trier and Aachen, has earned its awards. The route leads through the National Park - and over the Wackerberg! Hiking enthusiasts all over Germany have declared themselves in favour of the Eifelsteig as "Germany's most beautiful hiking trail 2015".

Not quite as long (116 km in total), but with a few archaeological highlights, the Roman canal hiking trail follows a 2,000 year-old masterpiece of engineering, including Kall at the foot of the Wackerbergs.
The name says it all on the Castle Route; the panoramic tour Eifel Views offers beautiful views of the Eifel landscape and the Pingenwanderweg leads from Kall to Wackerberg as an educational mining trail.
And all this is just a small selection from the hiking offer of the Northern Eifel...

hiking map

A good start

Situated in the middle of the forest, framed by nature reserves, not far from the intersection of several hiking trails, among them the Eifelsteig: a better starting point for hiking tours than from the Waldquartier Wackerberg cannot really exist.

Nationalpark

En route with Rangers

Of course, anyone can hike the Eifel National Park on one´s own: 240 kilometres of hiking trails are marked out, including easy hikes for visitors with limited mobility, but also the four-day wilderness trail across the entire National Park.
Exciting are especially the hikes and boat trips with rangers (free of charge and without registration) as well as individual tours with forest guides.

If you prefer to travel with relaxed pack animals, you can join a tour with lamas lamas or donkeys outside the National Park. An interesting Eifel route for less exotic hiking companions is presented by a guide for travelling with dogs.


Wanderbus

A bus for hiking

Since the spring of 2017, the district of Euskirchen has been offering its guests their own hiking bus, which runs four times a day on weekends and public holidays to interesting points of the Eifelsteig and other partner trails - unfortunately without a stop at Haus Wackerberg, just a few hundred metres from the Eifelsteig.

hiking tours

Hiking tours

Various hiking tours of the Northern Eifel are presented in a handy brochure, e.g. the "Wilderness Trail" in the National Park, the adventure routes "Rur-Olef-Route", "Castle-Route", the "Romans´Canal Hiking Route", and the "Eifel Well Path".


Bicycling

bicycle tours Just a few years ago, mostly recreational cyclists with tight calves dared to venture into the low mountain range. An excellent physical condition is not an obstacle to cycling in the Eifel today, but it is no longer a prerequisite for a bike tour in the Eifel.
There are quite a number of rental stations for electric bicycles (e-bikes, pedelecs), which take away the horror of many ascents. The dense network of signposted cycle paths also often leads along abandoned railway lines, along rivers, streams and lakes or over the wide plateaus with picturesque views. This applies, for example, to the Urft and Olef valley routes, the Erft and Ahr cycle paths, the Vennbahn cycle path, and the newly redeveloped Kyll cycle path, which runs for the first 30 km through three countries.

Rursee panorama

Water sports & more

A reservoir is considered a practical facility: it supplies the region with energy and drinking water and, at the same time, has a high recreational value. With a volume of more than 200 million square metres of water, Lake Rursee in the Eifel is Germany's second largest dam. With a good physical condition you can hike (27 km, approx. 7 hours) or cycle in one day. This is just as long, but it goes a little faster (about 2.5 hours).

Above all, however, the Rursee is an attractive water sports area: in addition to the natural open-air swimming pools (Beach Club Eschauel, Einruhr nature experience pool, Eiserbachsee natural open-air swimming pool) the sailing boats also form the view of the lake when the weather is fine.
Rowing boats, pedal boats, canoes and sailboats can be rented. Fishers request fishing permits, divers can take part in dives, surfers travel with their own equipment.

A number of other, albeit much smaller, lakes offer alternatives for water sports enthusiasts: with its various leisure facilities (large sunbathing lawn, tennis courts, mini-golf, bowling alley, playgrounds, water play equipment, water slides, beach volleyball fields), Lake Kronenburg is a particularly worthwhile destination for an excursion with the family. Sailors can pursue their hobby as well as surfers and pedaloers. Since the summer of 2013, the first "water rope course" has been floating in the Kronenburger See in Germany. Windsurfing, diving, rowing, canoeing and canoeing are possible at Lake Freilinger See near Blankenheim. The State Agency for Nature, Environment and Consumer Protection has been certifying the lakes in the Eifel region as having the best water quality for years.

Wanderer
Eifelsteig & Co.:
Wandern auf dem Wackerberg
-->

 Beliebte deutsche Wanderregion mit fünf Buchstaben? Na klar, die Eifel!

Seit die Römer vor 2.000 Jahren eine befestigte Straße zwischen ihren Provinzhauptstädten Trier und Köln angelegt haben (und eine Wasserleitung von Nettersheim nach Köln gleich daneben), gilt das Mittelgebirge verkehrstechnisch als gut erschlossen.
Römische Legionäre, mittelalterliche Ritter oder frühneuzeitliche Händler waren aber kaum des Vergnügens Willen unterwegs, und ein Zen-Motto ("Der Weg ist das Ziel") kannten sie wohl auch noch nicht. Gute Luft, schöne Landschaft und Bewegungstherapie gab´s als Zugabe, darüber sprach man gar nicht erst.
Ändern sollte sich das erst viel später, dann aber gründlich...

»Der Sinn des Reisens ist es, an ein Ziel zu kommen,der Sinn des Wanderns ist es, unterwegs zu sein.«

Theodor Heuss

Theodor Heuss, erster deutscher Bundespräsident, 1884 - 1963


Top Wanderwege

Eifelsteig Mehr Eifel geht nicht: Premiumwanderweg, Top Trail of Germany - der Eifelsteig, der 313 km lange Fernwanderweg zwischen Trier und Aachen, hat sich seine Auszeichnungen verdient. Die Route führt durch den Nationalpark – und über den Wackerberg!
Wanderfreunde haben sich bundesweit für den Eifelsteig als "Deutschlands schönsten Wanderweg 2015" ausgesprochen.

Nicht ganz so lang (insgesamt 116 km), dafür aber mit ein paar archäologischen Highlights versehen, folgt der Römerkanal-Wanderweg einer 2.000 Jahre alten ingenieurtechnischen Meisterleistung, u.a. auch durch Kall am Fuße des Wackerbergs.
Bei der Burgen-Route ist der Name Programm, die Panorama-Tour Eifel-Blicke bietet wunderschöne Aussichten auf die Eifellandschaft und der Pingenwanderweg führt als Bergbaulehrpfad von Kall auf den Wackerberg.
Und all dies ist nur eine kleine Auswahl aus dem Wanderangebot der Nordeifel ...

Wanderkarte

Ein guter Start

Mitten im Wald, eingerahmt von Naturschutzgebieten, nicht weit vom Schnittpunkt mehrerer Wanderwege, darunter der Eifelsteig - einen besseren Ausgangspunkt zu Wandertouren als vom Waldquartier Wackerberg kann es eigentlich nicht geben.

Nationalpark

Mit Rangern unterwegs

Natürlich kann jeder den Nationalpark Eifel auf eigene Faust erwandern: 240 Kilometer Wanderwege sind ausgewiesen, darunter leichte Wanderungen für Besucher mit Mobilitätseinschränkungen, aber auch der viertägige Wildnis-Trail einmal quer durch den gesamten Nationalpark.
Spannend sind besonders die Wanderungen und Schiffstouren mit Rangern (kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung) sowie individuelle Touren mit Waldführern.

Wer gerne mit entspannten Lasttieren unterwegs ist, kann sich - außerhalb des Nationalparks - einer Tour mit Lamas oder Eseln anschließen. Interessante Eifel-Routen für weniger exotische Wanderbegleiter stellt ein Hundereiseführer im Web vor.


Wanderbus

Wander­bus

Seit dem Frühjahr 2017 spendiert der Kreis Euskirchen seinen Gästen einen eigenen Wanderbus, der an Wochenenden und Feiertagen viermal täglich interessante Punkte des Eifelsteigs und anderer Partnerwege anfährt - leider noch ohne eigene Haltestation am Haus Wackerberg, nur ein paar hundert Meter vom Eifelsteig entfernt.

Wandertouren

Wander­touren

Gemeinsam mit 4 Etappen auf dem Eifelsteig, dem „Wildnis-Trail“ im Nationalpark und den Erlebnisrouten „Rur-Olef-Route", „Burgen-Route“, dem „Römer-Kanal-Wanderweg“ und dem „Eifeler Quellenpfad“ werden diverse Rundwandertouren der Nordeifel in einem handlichen Prospekt vorgestellt.


Radfahren

Radtouren Noch vor ein paar Jahren haben sich überwiegend Freizeitradler mit strammen Waden ins Mittelgebirge getraut. Eine ausgezeichnete Kondition ist zwar heute kein Hinderungsgrund, aber auch nicht mehr unbedingt Voraussetzung für eine Fahrradtour in der Eifel.
So gibt es inzwischen eine Reihe von Mietstationen für Elektroräder (e-Bikes, Pedelecs), die manchem Anstieg den Schrecken nehmen. Das dichte Netz an ausgeschilderten Radwegen führt zudem oft auf stillgelegten Bahntrassen, entlang der Flüsse, Bäche und Seen oder über die weiten Hochflächen mit malerischen Ausblicke. Das gilt beispielsweise für die Tälerrouten von Urft und Olef, den Erft- und den Ahr-Radweg, den Vennbahn-Radweg, sowie den neu hergerichteten Kyllradweg, der auf den ersten 30 km Länge durch drei Länder führt.

Rursee-Panorama

Wassersport & mehr

Ein Stausee ist schon eine praktische Einrichtung: Er versorgt die Region mit Energie und Trinkwasser und hat zudem einen hohen Freizeitwert. Mit einem Volumen von über 200 Mio. qm Wasser ist der Rursee in der Eifel die zweitgrößte Talsperre Deutschlands. Versehen mit einer guten Kondition kann man in einem Tag rundherum wandern (27 km, ca. 7 h) oder Fahrrad fahren. Das ist genauso lang, geht aber ein wenig schneller (ca. 2,5 h).

Vor allem aber ist der Rursee ein attraktives Wassersportrevier: Neben den Naturfreibädern (Beach Club Eschauel, Naturerlebnisbad Einruhr, Naturfreibad Eiserbachsee) prägen bei schönem Wetter die Segelboote den Blick auf den See.
Bei den Bootsvermietungen können Ruder-, Tretboote, Kanadier oder auch Segelboote gemietet werden. Für Gastangler gibt es Fischereierlaubnisscheine, Taucher können sich an Tauchgängen beteiligen, Surfer reisen mit der eigenen Ausrüstung an.

Eine Reihe weiterer, wenn auch wesentlich kleinere Seen, bietet Alternativen für Wassersportler: Mit seinen diversen Freizeitanlagen (große Liegewiese, Tennisplätze, Minigolf, Bocciabahn, Spielplätze, Wasserspielgeräte, Wasserrutschen, Beach-Volleyball-Felder) ist der Kronenburger See ein besonders lohnendes Ziel für einen Ausflug mit der Familie. Segler können ihrem Hobby ebenso nachgehen wie Surfer und Tretbootfahrer. Seit dem dem Sommer 2013 schwimmt im Kronenburger See der bundesweit erste "Wasserseilgarten". Am Freilinger See in der Nähe von Blankenheim sind Windsurfen, Tauchen, Rudern, Paddelbootfahren möglich. Das Landesamt für Natur, Umwelt und Verbraucherschutz bescheinigt den Seen in der Eifel seit Jahren beste Wasserqualität.